Public CardBoarders are free members who only have the ability to create and edit public boards – boards that all CardBoard users can see and clone, but only the board creator can edit. The big difference here between Public and Community CardBoarders being that there is no direct collaboration. When you purchase a community, you have the ability to add members to your community and add those members to boards to dynamically interact with each other. (Similar to Github)
Group cards into journeys to visualize value collections. A journey is a collection of cards that reflects a certain path across your board. It can help identify requirements from a user perspective, e.g. buyer, seller, administrator etc.
Once a member’s trial is over, you have the option to become a Public CardBoarder – that is, create and edit boards that are viewable (and clone-able) by everyone in the CardBoard community, or purchase a community.
When in a Trial Membership you add collaborators directly to boards by going into the “Board settings” in the upper left-hand corner next to the board’s name or by clicking this button on top right-hand menu. Once in either, you simply enter the email address into the text box and click “add collaborator.”
When in a Paid Community only the community owner, the account of the person who purchased the licenses, can add or remove collaborators from the community. Once a collaborator’s been added to the community, any collaborators in the community can add any other collaborator in that community to a board by going into the “settings” page of the board and selecting from the drop-down menu which collaborator she or he would like to board, or by clicking this button in the upper right-hand menu and selecting from the pop-up which collaborator to add. Viewers can also be added to boards within paid communities, by any collaborator, within the “settings” page of a board or by clicking this button .
When converting from trial membership to paid membership, your boards will transfer, though, collaborators will need to be added again. Once you purchased the community you will be directed to add members to your community. When they’re added you will individually add them back as either collaborators or viewers to the boards. Once those users are added to your community, they will have all the rights that the community owner does in creating boards, inviting collaborators, etc. and will not have to pay for their membership (but their invites will count against the community owner’s allotment.)
If you have more boards in your trial membership than your community plan will allow, you will be given the option of which boards you wish to transfer into your community and whether you wish to download the other boards as CSV files or make them public.
The best way to transfer a board is to download the map as a CSV file by clicking on this icon in the upper right corner. Once downloaded, import the data as a new board, by choosing “Upload from different CSV”.
When you delete your community, your private boards will be deleted, but your public boards will be unaffected, and your account will default you into a Public CardBoarder membership; the same goes for your collaborators’ boards and accounts. If you wish to keep your private boards, before you delete your community, you can either convert them to public boards or download them as CSV files.